Mascara.

October 20, 2009


An obvious post from the Lash Lady…Mascara deserves an on going commentary. When I hear of, or come across an extraordinary product at The Lash Spa, I will most certainly share my findings. The one sure thing with this ancient invention is that all are not created equal and the end results greatly depend on the state of your bare, naked lashes. They can claim to lengthen, thicken, separate. But if you do not have the lashes of a Greek Goddess to begin with, I can assure you, you are not going to end up with the lashes in the magazine ad. I do have some tricks that have served me well over the years. I was a Dial-a-Lash die hard back in the 80’s. Then I moved on to Lancome’s Aquacils until it’s discontinuation in 2002.

The key to a better application–scraping excess product off of the wand and combing it through with a dry wand. Remember ladies, eyelashes are hair. When wet, it wants to cling together. I also recommend allowing a few minutes to pass between coats. Keep combing through with a clean, dry wand. Your lashes will lengthen and thicken this way, without applying too much product.

Many ask if mascara may be worn with the eyelash extensions…the answer is yes and no. We sell a specifically formulated mascara for the extensions. It does not contain the emollients others are formulated with that would cause the glue to dissolve. As with any other mascara, too much will most definitely destroy the over all look of the extensions. As well as causing them to fall off pre-maturely. A little goes a lonnnnggg way with the extensions. Gentle combing of the lashes with a clean, dry wand is essential. The most IMPORTANT factor here… DO NOT remove the mascara from the extensions. Allow it the gradually dissolve and fade away. You attempt to remove it, you will wipe away everything. Total wipe out.

The names I hear dropped at The Lash Spa, in the world of this subject, are many. Stila Cosmetics has a great one I hear that has a double sided wand. One for the top and one for the bottom. Genius! The bottom lashes are a completely different breeding ground of fertility. There just are not as many, which can be challenging to get the right application, without looking like a racoon. Dior Show is another that comes up often. Back in my cosmetic days, Dior was another fave of mine. The Classic “pink and green” Maybelline Great Lash is one I have grown to appreciate. As I hear of more, I will promise to post…

Peace from the Lash Lady.

2 Responses to “Mascara.”

  1. missy Says:

    another great mascara- Cover Girl, orange packaging,and its called Lash Blast

    • lashlady Says:

      YES!!! Heard of the “Orange” tube….did not know who made it. Thank you for sharing, my fellow product whore:) I will be sure to try.


Comments are closed.

